

JAMESTOWN POLICE DEPARTMENT



Jamestown, Rhode Island www.jamestownri.gov\police

OFFICIAL NOTICE

LOW-SPEED VEHICLES (LSV)

On July 1, 2024, low-speed vehicles (LSV) will be permitted to operate on certain roadways in Jamestown.

State law defines the new laws/rules regarding LSV's as listed below:

- All LSV's must be registered, insured, and inspected
- They must be electric and have a top speed of 25 mph
- They must have all the required safety features and equipment
- They must have headlights, seat belts, and turn signals
- Only licensed operators are permitted to operate LSV's
- LSV's are subject to all existing motor vehicle and traffic laws
- LSV's are only permitted on roadways that are 35mph or less

IMPORTANT NOTE: Golf carts are not manufactured to LSV standards and therefore may not be registered as an LSV.

Please visit the Rhode Island DMV website for more information: www.dmv.ri.gov