TOWN OF JAMESTOWN

TOWN COUNCIL WORK SESSION WITH THE HARBOR MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

Monday, May 20, 2002

A work session of the Jamestown Town Council with the Harbor Management Commission was called to order at the Jamestown Philomenian Library, Conference Room, 26 North Road at 9:10 PM by Council Vice-President Swain. The following members were present:

Kenneth Littman David Long Norma Willis

Also present were:

Maryanne Crawford, CPA, Town Administrator
Denise Jennings, Assistant Finance Director/Water and Sewer Clerk
Douglas DiSimone, Esq., Town Solicitor
Thomas Tighe, Police Chief
Paula Swistak, Harbor Clerk
Samuel Paterson, Harbor Master

Harbor Management Commission members present:

David Prichard, Chairperson

James Archibald, Vice-Chairperson

Richard Condon
David Laurie
Michael Schnack

Julio DiGiando
Daniel Lilly
Harrison Wright

Absent: Council President Guy Settipane

The purpose of this work session was to discuss the proposed revisions to Section 8 (Harbor Commission) and 9 (Administration) of the Harbor Management Ordinance.

Discussion ensued on the following points:

Section 8 (Harbor Commission)

- o Authority, Powers and Duties of the Commission
- Composition of the Commission
- o Terms of Commission members
- o Organization and responsibilities of chairperson and vice-chairperson
- Harbor finances and split budget
- Compensation to members

Section 9 (Administration)

- o Executive Director to the Harbor Commission
- Harbor Administrative Staff

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business before the Council, the work session concluded at 10:55 PM.

Attest:

Denise Jennings Assistant Finance Director/Water and Sewer Clerk

xc: Council Members (5) Town Administrator

Town Solicitor Town Clerk